Doug L. Lutz has been appointed to the board of directors for the American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI). Lutz is an attorney at Frost Brown Todd LLC and is practice group chair of the firm's bankruptcy and restructuring group. He is the first practicing attorney from Cincinnati to be elected as director.

Beth Schneider Naylor has been named the president-elect of the Notre Dame Law Association (NDLA) Board of Directors and will serve for the 2012-2013 year. Naylor is a member in the Cincinnati office of Frost Brown Todd LLC and has vice-chaired the firm's products liability practice group, founded the FBT Women's Initiative, and served on the firm's Diversity Committee.

Corey Asay has joined Cincinnati-based law firm Dinsmore as an associate in the labor and employment department. His practice focuses on counseling and defending employers in employment matters like discrimination, retaliation, and breach of employment contracts, among others.

Emma L. Scharfenberger of Graydon Head has been elected to the board of trustees of ArtWorks. Scharfenberger is also a member of the firm's Corporate Counsel Practice Group along with several of the firm's industry groups.

Lewis Diaz, an attorney with Peck, Shaffer & Williams LLP, has been elected secretary/treasurer by the board of the Northern Kentucky Area Development District (NKADD). Diaz is also a citizen member of the board and a member of the board's finance and administration committee.

Brea L'Heureux has joined law firm Dinsmore's Cincinnati office as an associate in the litigation department and Mass Tort Practice Group. L'Heureux has extensive experience in monitoring and reviewing contracts and formerly performed government contracting work for the United States Air Force's Space and Missile Systems Center in Los Angeles.

Mark Silbersack of Cincinnati law firm Dinsmore has been named president of The Cincinnatus Association, an organization focusing on learning and responding to the issues and needs of Cincinnati's local government. Silbersack, a Cincinnatus member for more than a decade, will serve as president for up to two years.

Dr. Mark A. Harding and Dr. Sashi Kilaru have joined The Christ Hospital's staff of physicians. Both doctors specialize in open vascular procedures for arterial and venous diseases, less invasive endovascular procedures, and wound care.

The Ohio Nursery and Landscape Association (ONLA) has elected James W. Searcy as its 2012 president-elect. Searcy, a graduate of Miami University in 1971, has been in the landscaping and retail gardening field for 40 years and most recently settled at Hyde Park Landscaping in eastern Cincinnati in 2011.

Cincinnati employee benefits and financial consulting firm HORAN welcomes Valerie Crow Jacobs as account executive, specializing in middle-market and large group sales. Jacobs, an active member of the community, will be in charge of implementing plans to enhance employee benefit programs that target improved health.

Dr. Sandra Miller has joined The Christ Hospital's staff as a specialist in breast surgery related to benign and malignant cancer. She has been caring for patients with breast cancer for over ten years, with a focus on biopsies and ultrasounds, as well as surgical treatment for cancerous breast conditions.

Geraldine B. Warner and Buddy (Donald) LaRosa are the newest members of the board of park commissioners at the Hamilton County Park District. Warner is currently a member of the board of trustees at the University of Cincinnati and vice chair of the board of the Ohio Arts Council. LaRosa is known for establishing LaRosa's Pizzeria in 1954.

First Financial Wealth Management has introduced Tim Becker as first VP and brokerage manager. Becker will oversee and manage new business development efforts and day-to-day operations, using his experience to guide associates as they work to provide customized financial solutions for clients.

Kristi Michelle Heidi, a student in Cincinnati State's paramedic program, has received the Unsung Hero Award, a scholarship that recognizes individuals who exceed expectation in the course of everyday job performance. Valued at more than $4,500, the scholarship will cover more than 75 percent of the cost of her tuition.